Your Conscious Thoughts Are Your Reality

Carlos Castaneda

Recently, I was watching a made for television movie (one of the main reasons I hate watching television, and do so very seldom) about evil and vindictive spirits and the Catholic Church – you know, the typical “Exorcist” styled movie.  While watching this movie, I thought about people I know that will swear to you that this kind of phenomenon exists all the time.  Then on the other hand, I know people who will swear to you that this is nothing but “hog-wash.”  So, who has it right?

In my youth, I read most of Carlos Castaneda‘s books, “the Teachings of Don Juan“.  They were very enlightening and very thought-provoking.  These books taught a lot of native beliefs and what some call sorcery.  There are some that would say those teachings are evil, they’re malicious, they’re false and so on.  I didn’t find them to be negative at all… I guess that’s because I didn’t start reading the books out of fear or apprehension.   I read them with the mindset of desiring to understand, incorporate these “teachings” in with what I already knew and weigh them in the balance.  For me, life has been and continues to be a journey, not a destination.   As Albert Einstein said (paraphrased), “I love to travel, I hate to arrive.”

What I have learned along the way is, what you’ve experienced and what others will believe are often not the same.  My many experiences, when relayed to others, does not bring a unity of experiences, a unity of life, i.e., ‘I’ll learn from you, and you can learn from me.’  No, quite the opposite.  When I share, most people will shy away from me, not caring to learn, ask questions or understand what I’ve learned and have or can apply to life.

So, here’s another question:  if some will swear that they’ve seen demons, evil spirits, angel’s, disembodied spirits, et al, why is it others have not?  What separates us in our experiences?

Below is a ten part series on conscious thought and how it creates our reality.  If you have “religious” beliefs, this may help you understand why we’re guided not to counsel with “mediums”, why – honestly – Jewish and Christian scriptures describe hell as an experience akin to manic depression and heaven as ecstasy (not the drug).  There are so many references to ones state of mind in scriptural context, in the sciences, and in literature, why is it we don’t understand this?  We’ve heard the expression, “Garbage in, garbage out” many times in our lifetime, but why does its meaning escape us?

Sentient beings  is a term used to designate the totality of living, conscious beings that constitute the object and audience of Buddhist teaching. Translating various Sanskrit terms ( jantu, bahu jana, jagat, sattva ), sentient beings  conventionally refers to the mass of living things subject to illusion, suffering, and rebirth (Saṃsāra). Less frequently, sentient beings  as a class broadly encompasses all beings possessing consciousness, including Buddhas and Bodhisattvas.

In many ways, we create the world around us, yet for most, we’re just living the experiences others have created for us – we’ve given our obligation to be masters of our own destiny, our own experiences, our own choices, to someone else.  We’ve closed our minds to our own possibilities, our abilities and our obligation to be sentient beings.  We speak of freedom and say that we cherish it, but our actions speak differently.

What we see, what we experience is limited to our own acceptance of who and what we are versus what we’re told and accept.  If you’re in a “group” that believes in demons and evil spirits, expect to experience them:  if you’re a person that seeks knowledge, wisdom, understanding, true love… all the wonderful things of life – you will, as long as that is your focus!

Here is the video:  the last time I viewed this, when each segment (ten minutes per segment) ended, the next one would start automatically – however, whether this is still the case, it’s well worth your time to watch and learn.

All the best in your choices!

 

