Appearance, Perception and Reality

 

As a child in parochial schools, I was taught like everyone else, how to memorize, not how to understand.  The indoctrination of Christianity in my experience is about conformity, not about understanding.  As I grew older, I began to question – not a popular thing to do with conformists.  The answers I got can be narrowed down simply to one consistent reply, “… you must have faith.”  Faith for me has never been an issue, but I’ve always sought to understand more, instead of becoming an effective “play-back” machine.

As I continued my journey of understanding, I’ve come across many things that explains what my conformist teachers of old either couldn’t, or wouldn’t explain, but my studies also helped me understand what “man” really is and is capable of.

Here are two examples:

Most of Christianity has been taught that the earth was created in seven days – and they’ll quote Genesis chapter one as their source.  Right here is where their “debate” starts and stops:  this is also the problem with memorization vs. understanding.  Understanding – true understanding is knowing the whole, then comparing the whole with the parts you’re choosing to “debate”.  If you go just a little bit further, to the next chapter – in Genesis chapter two, verse four, it states:

These are the generations of the heavens and of the earth when they were created, in the day that the Lord God made the earth and the heavens,

Out of curiosity, I compared this to the Torah, the original text, and with Orthodox Rabbi‘s.  While the excerpt is from the King James version, making the language slightly different, it’s correct.

If we look at verse seven of the same chapter, we get to understand just a bit more of our existence:

And the Lord God formed man of the dust of the ground, and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life; and man became a living soul.

As with the former, in comparison to the original, it’s true.

I won’t venture to explain why Genesis one says seven days, then the second chapter says it was all completed in one day, this isn’t the object of today’s post.  My idea is to challenge your belief of reality – how we see and perceive life.

Now, according to Torah and the supporting texts, man was a living, breathing and quite animate being when the “breath of life” was breathed into its – our nostrils.  This being the case, the “spirit” that was breathed into man is what makes him – us different from all other animals.

It has long been my contention that to understand our origins (in this case, from a religious view), we can understand our existence and purpose:  the rest of the text is for history and guidance… examples of choices and consequences.  If we do not understand our origins and purpose, the rest is at best, confusing – left to memorization, never to understanding.

Enter Albert Einstein!  Contrary to the beliefs of some, he was not an atheist.  He was Jewish – albeit a “secular” Jew, his foundation was in religion. If you read yesterday’s blog, there is a quote from him there that states that he wanted to know the mind of G-d, and that all else was mere details.

I’ve found quite a bit of information in my journey to understand who and what we are and our purpose here.  This is not to say that I’ve found “the” answer, nor all of the answers, but as I study, read and press for more information… and take the time to understand what I find, things become much clearer.  The following video may, or may not be difficult for you to understand, but it’s not my place to judge your understanding.  What I hope it will do is to challenge your understanding of creation, spirit and consciousness.

Science is now telling us that they know that for matter to “appear”(based on the theory of relativity), there has to be a consciousness behind it – that nothing comes into being randomly.  In experiments conducted by Einstein and colleagues, they noticed that the experiments would change when they were observed.  For me, this raises a question – yet unanswered – how is it that one person experiences say, the color blue, but another observer doesn’t see something different?  How is it that we see and (physically) sense the same stimuli as anyone else with the same capabilities (sight, hearing, touch, etc.)?  Why not something different?  So far, my answer is – we are all connected!

More tomorrow!

 

2 thoughts on “Appearance, Perception and Reality

  1. I enjoyed this post because I agree with it. It made me laugh because Hubby and I are always bickering about the differences (and sometimes existence) of objective and subjective realities. It is a fascinating topic that not only opens the psyche of others for analytical debate, but can also lead to some mind-blowing revelations.

    Like

    1. Dear Rouschel:

      Thank you VERY much for your comment – you should see the smile on my face! I’m glad that I can add food for thought to your already existing conversation.

      All the best!

      Like

Comments are closed.