What We Think We Know and What Is

 

knowl·edge   [nol-ij]

noun

1. acquaintance with facts, truths, or principles, as from study or investigation; general erudition: knowledge of many things.
2. familiarity or conversance, as with a particular subject or branch of learning: A knowledge of accounting was necessary for the job.
3. acquaintance or familiarity gained by sight, experience, or report: a knowledge of human nature.
4. the fact or state of knowing;  the perception of fact or truth; clear and certain mental apprehension.
5. awareness, as of a fact or circumstance: He had knowledge of her good fortune.

wis·dom   [wiz-duhm]

noun

1. the quality or state of being wise;  knowledge of what is true or right coupled with just judgment as to action; sagacity, discernment, or insight.
2. scholarly knowledge or learning: the wisdom of the schools.
3. wise  sayings or teachings; precepts.
4. a wise  act or saying.
5. ( initial capital letter ) Douay Bible . Wisdom of Solomon.

in·tel·li·gence   [in-tel-i-juhns]

noun

1. capacity for learning, reasoning, understanding, and similar forms of mental activity; aptitude in grasping truths, relationships, facts, meanings, etc.
2. manifestation of a high mental capacity: He writes with intelligence and wit.
3. the faculty of understanding.
4. knowledge of an event, circumstance, etc., received or imparted; news; information.
5. the gathering or distribution of information, especially secret information.
___________________________________________________________________

If you’re wondering why I keep posting definitions, the answer is easy:  for understanding to take place, everyone has to be “playing” by the same rules, or if you prefer, we have to have a mutual understanding of the language being used.  This is important.  Example:  Several years ago, I was engaged in a conversation with someone who at the beginning made it fairly interesting – until he tried to make a point that made me question what he was saying.  After questioning him, he stood by his definition of the word he was using, even after giving him the dictionary definition.  His stubbornness finally caused the conversation to be terminated.

For those that know me, I’m one that has always looked for consistencies and inconsistencies.  I question the inconsistencies to understand why.  Some answers come easily, others seem to be a lifetime of learning.

In short:

  • Knowledge is the accumulation of information:  I’m sure most of you have met many who have a vast storehouse of information, but seem to have no ability  to use it.
  • Wisdom is applying the accumulated information with experiences:  Having the knowledge and knowing how to use it.
  • Intelligence is having the ability to reason/think.

These definitions and actions serve us well in the physical world, but there is something more than what’s listed above – it’s that something that a great deal of us are experiencing now and even some of us have been “feeling” for the last week or two.

There are few things in our world that I subscribe to the notion of, “… it can’t be wrong if everyone is doing it,”  mainly because I’m not comfortable with the “mob” mentality.  When there’s a choice to be made, I decide for me, even if the decision has to take in consideration, ‘will my choice be good only for me, or will it be good for all concerned?’  With this being stated, what is going on?  Why do we “feel” or “sense” there is something going on, but it defies our “normal” rationale?

From my gathered information, my own experiences, I’ve come to an understanding that may change as I gather more information, but I’ll continue with this thought later.  While you wait, see what you can find 😉
All the best!

 

6 thoughts on “What We Think We Know and What Is

  1. I know I like this blog, and the way you write. Because I see the wisdom of your words, and give you kudos for the use of creative intelligence. You’re the type of person I would like to converse with over coffee, while playing a game of chess. Even if you don’t play chess. I’m staying tuned.

    Like

    1. Sheila!

      Thank you ever SO much for your compliment, comment and “kudos”, all are GREATLY appreciated! I’m only relating my experiences in the hope they will help others see the boxes they live in and suggest ways to get out of them and be free. In reality, the only true freedom is self – once we free ourselves from our accepted bonds, there will not be any need to fight others.

      In the mean time, grab your cup of coffee, click on the tab above called “Internet Presence”, click on my website there, then the tab “Contact Us”, then finally, click on Skype. When the Skype icon is either green or yellow, I’m online – Skype is a free computer-to-computer voice, video and texting service.

      Oh, and yes, I play chess! :p

      Like

Comments are closed.